Independent buying research
EDR Buyers GuideEndpoint security decisions, documented

EDR Pricing: What Should You Actually Compare?

Two EDR quotes can have very different prices and both can be real. The problem is that they may not be selling you the same thing.

Last reviewed
2026-10-05

One price may cover endpoint software. Another may include servers, 24/7 monitoring, threat hunting, incident response, support or other security products.

Before deciding whether an EDR quote is expensive, find out what is inside it.

The short answer

Do not start by dividing the total quote by your endpoint count.

Start by separating the quote into:

  1. Endpoint software
  2. Server protection
  3. Managed detection and response
  4. Implementation or onboarding
  5. Support
  6. Additional security products or services

Only compare numbers after you know you are comparing the same things.

Public prices give you a starting point

Some EDR vendors now publish prices.

As of October 2026, CrowdStrike lists Falcon Enterprise at $184.99 per device per year when billed annually.

CrowdStrike lists Falcon Complete, its managed detection and response offering, as Contact sales rather than publishing a price.

Source: CrowdStrike official pricing. Vendor list price.

SentinelOne lists Singularity Complete at $179.99 per endpoint per year.

It lists Singularity Commercial at $229.99 per endpoint per year and Singularity Enterprise as Contact Sales for Pricing.

Source: SentinelOne official pricing. Vendor list price.

These are useful reference points.

They are not proof of what an organization with hundreds or thousands of endpoints should ultimately pay.

Real purchases can look very different

Public procurement records give us another view: what specific organizations were actually quoted or approved to spend.

They also show why price comparisons get dangerous quickly.

662 endpoints: $70,622.16 per year

Yellowstone County's April 22, 2026 renewal quote (Version 1) lists:

A later version of the renewal increased the proposed annual total to $72,222.36. We preserve the earlier $70,622.16 quote because it is the source of the documented 662-unit and $106.68 figures rather than treating either number as a universal SentinelOne price.

But the description matters.

The quote is for SMART Endpoint Protection Plus and explicitly includes SentinelOne Complete and Vigilance with 24/7 SentinelOne SOC management.

That $106.68 figure therefore should not be treated as a clean software-only SentinelOne price.

Source: Yellowstone County, SentinelOne renewal quote #159521, Version 1, April 22, 2026. Official county record.

One SentinelOne quote, broken into pieces

A 2026 McLean County quote is particularly useful because it separates several components.

It includes:

The total quote is $94,782.89.

The lesson is not that SentinelOne costs $26.38.

The lesson is that the endpoint software can be only one part of the security purchase.

Source: McLean County 2026 Executive Committee agenda / procurement quote. Public procurement quote.

A CrowdStrike example shows the same problem

El Dorado County approved $211,013.81 for one year covering CrowdStrike Falcon Complete endpoint protection and Security Information and Event Management services.

Falcon Complete itself includes managed detection and response.

The county had previously upgraded to Falcon Complete for 24/7 management, monitoring and response.

The $211,013.81 total is real.

But it is not a clean CrowdStrike EDR software price, because multiple services are inside the purchase.

Dividing the total by an endpoint count and publishing the result as "CrowdStrike price per endpoint" would create a number the source does not support.

Source: El Dorado County. Public procurement record.

Negotiated prices can be far below public prices

A Florida statewide CrowdStrike contract provides another useful example.

The contract lists a subsequent software year of endpoint detection and response at $79.66 per device, including ongoing training, integration maintenance and support services.

It separately lists optional Falcon Complete managed detection and response components.

Source: Florida Department of Management Services CrowdStrike EDR contract. Public contract.

Do not compare $79.66 directly with CrowdStrike's current $184.99 public Falcon Enterprise price and conclude that one is the "real" price.

The contracts are different, the buyers are different, the terms are different and the included items may be different.

The useful conclusion is narrower:

Published prices are not necessarily the final negotiated prices available to a large buyer.

How much room can there be to negotiate?

We cannot give every buyer a reliable discount percentage.

But we have evidence that negotiation can matter.

In July 2026, University of California Systemwide Procurement announced a new CrowdStrike agreement for Falcon Complete managed detection and response and related endpoint security capabilities.

UC reported a 61% cost reduction versus initial pricing.

UC did not publish enough information there for us to turn that percentage into a private-company pricing benchmark.

So we don't.

But it is evidence that an initial price and a negotiated price can be materially different.

Source: University of California Systemwide Procurement. Public procurement record.

Microsoft changes the math

Microsoft Defender for Endpoint is harder to compare with a simple per-endpoint price because many organizations buy it through broader Microsoft licensing.

Microsoft Defender for Endpoint Plan 2, which includes Microsoft's EDR capabilities, is available as a standalone license and is also included in Microsoft 365 E5 and certain other Microsoft plans.

Under Microsoft's licensing terms, an eligible licensed user can use Defender for Endpoint on up to five concurrent devices.

Server operating systems require separate licensing.

Sources: Microsoft Defender service description; Microsoft Product Terms. Vendor documentation.

This means a company already paying for Microsoft 365 E5 may face a very different incremental endpoint-security cost than a company starting from scratch.

Do not call Defender "free."

The organization is paying for the broader Microsoft license.

The useful question is:

What endpoint security are we already entitled to use, and what additional money would we spend by choosing something else?

See CrowdStrike vs SentinelOne vs Microsoft Defender.

Software price and operating cost are different

A cheaper EDR license is not necessarily the cheaper security operation.

Someone still has to:

A quote that includes MDR may cost more than software alone because you are also buying people to perform some of that work.

Conversely, buying software alone does not make the people cost disappear. It moves more of that work inside your organization.

See EDR vs MDR.

How to normalize two EDR quotes

Before comparing Vendor A with Vendor B, put both quotes into the same structure.

1. Endpoint software

How many workstations are covered? What product or package is included? What is the term?

2. Servers

Are servers included in the workstation price or priced separately? How many servers are covered?

3. Managed response

Does the quote include 24/7 monitoring? Does the provider investigate alerts? Can it isolate an endpoint or take other response actions?

4. Other products

Is identity security included? SIEM? Mobile? Vulnerability management? Threat hunting? Device control?

5. Services

Is onboarding included? Implementation? Training? Premium support? Incident response?

6. Contract

Is this one year or multiple years? Is the price introductory? What happens at renewal? Are quantities committed?

A simple quote comparison

ItemQuote AQuote B
Endpoints  
Servers  
EDR software  
24/7 MDR  
Incident response  
Implementation / onboarding  
Support  
Other security products  
Contract term  
Renewal terms  
Total annual cost  
What is not included  

Questions to ask before accepting an EDR quote

  1. Which exact products and packages are included?
  2. How many workstations, servers and other devices does this cover?
  3. Is MDR included or separate?
  4. What does the MDR team actually do when it detects something?
  5. Are onboarding, implementation and training included?
  6. Which optional products have been added to the quote?
  7. What could we remove because we already own equivalent capability elsewhere?
  8. What happens to the price if endpoint count changes?
  9. What is the term, and what happens at renewal?
  10. Which parts of this price are negotiable?

What should EDR cost for 500 or 1,000 endpoints?

We do not have enough comparable evidence to publish a reliable universal number.

Public list prices, negotiated contracts, managed-service bundles and Microsoft licensing produce very different answers.

Publishing a single "average EDR price per endpoint" from those numbers would create false precision.

A better approach is to obtain comparable quotes, separate their components and use documented prices as reference points rather than promises.

As our comparable pricing evidence grows, this page can become more specific.

The decision

A quote is not expensive or cheap in isolation.

First determine:

Then compare the money.

About the pricing evidence

This guide uses current vendor-published prices, official licensing information and documented public procurement records.

Public-sector prices are evidence of specific purchases or contract terms. They are not presented as normal private-company pricing.

Bundled totals remain bundled. We do not manufacture per-endpoint prices by dividing totals when the source does not support that calculation.

Vendor list prices are labeled as list prices and may differ from negotiated quotes.

If a source does not disclose a component, we do not fill it in.

Structured price records

2 approved records

Documented prices with what each covered. Public-sector records are specific purchases, not private-company benchmarks.

Year
2026
Context
Public sector · United States
Endpoints
Not disclosed
Servers
Not disclosed
24/7 in-house
Not disclosed

EDR plus managed detection & response

El Dorado County

Chose
CrowdStrike Falcon Complete

What they were solving: The county had previously upgraded to Falcon Complete for 24/7 management, monitoring and response. This approval covers one year of Falcon Complete endpoint protection and Security Information and Event Management services.

$211,01412-month termBundled - not comparable as a license price
EDR softwareMDR serviceImplementationIR / huntingOther
IncludedIncludedNot disclosedNot disclosedIncluded

Licenses Not disclosed · Endpoints Not disclosed · Servers Not disclosed

Public procurement record. Term January 16, 2026 through January 15, 2027. Includes SIEM services alongside Falcon Complete.

Sources · Not yet reviewed

  1. 1.El Dorado County approval: CrowdStrike Falcon Complete and SIEM services - Award notice, El Dorado CountySupports: $211,013.81 for January 16, 2026 through January 15, 2027; Falcon Complete and SIEM services
Year
2026
Context
Public sector · United States
Endpoints
662
Servers
Not disclosed
24/7 in-house
Not disclosed

EDR plus managed detection & response

Yellowstone County

Chose
SentinelOne Singularity

What they were solving: Renewal quote for SMART Endpoint Protection Plus, which includes SentinelOne Complete and Vigilance with 24/7 SentinelOne SOC management.

$70,62212-month termBundled - not comparable as a license price
EDR softwareMDR serviceImplementationIR / huntingOther
IncludedIncludedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed

Licenses Not disclosed · Endpoints 662 · Servers Not disclosed · Per endpoint $107 (unit price stated by the source; includes 24/7 SOC management, not a software-only price)

Public procurement quote. Includes Vigilance / 24/7 SentinelOne SOC management.

Sources · Not yet reviewed

  1. 1.Yellowstone County, SentinelOne renewal quote #159521, Version 1, April 22, 2026 - Request for proposal, Yellowstone County, 2026Supports: 662 endpoints, $106.68 per endpoint annually, $70,622.16 per year, scope of the quote